Welcome to MBPost!  -
Hope Bottom Bracket Review
Article
 

Hope Bottom Bracket Review

  Featured on the Front Page
Hope Bottom Bracket Review

Page Type: Article

 

Page By: Andy Livo

Created/Edited: Oct 28, 2009 / Jun 10, 2014

Object ID: 272817

Hits: 8418 

Page Score: 75.81%  - 6 Votes 

Vote: Log in to vote

 

Hope Bottom Bracket Review - Purchased Jan 2009

The Hope Bottom Bracket is a work of art with beautifully machined aluminium cups, sealed cartridge bearings and aluminium tube. There are two options with his bottom bracket the ceramic bearings or the stainless steel ones. The ceramic bearings are more expensive. However the steel bearings have a two year guarantee on them. I paid £60 for this bottom bracket in January 2009. This certainly is not a cheap option but after not even getting one year out of an XTR bottom bracket I decided it was worth paying for a decent one.

I did bemoan the demise of the good old cartridge bearing square taper crank but I have to say that these external bottom brackets are so easy to fit and dissemble when needed. I guess I'm converted, well certainly to the principle, but I'm not sure about the longevity of this type of system.

The hope bearings are butter smooth when new, which is what one would expect from a unit at this price.

Out on the trail

So okay the bottom bracket looks cool but how does it perform. Well its a bottom bracket for crying out loud, it goes round and round! And as long as it goes round and round then I'm happy! After my last ride (24th Oct 2009), which was incredibly muddy and gritty I noticed some strange noises coming from the bottom bracket. I located it to the non-drive side, which was surprising as the most likely bearing to go is always on the drive side. I stripped it down and found it to be contaminated with grit. Removal of the cartridge bearing was simple and straightforward. I prised off the seals and flushed out the contaminated grease and grit with WD-40. The bearing itself was undamaged and ran smooth. I left this to dry for a couple of days and then packed it full of grease (Bullshot - its the best grease out there) and reinstalled it. It seems okay.

The question still remains, why should it go on the non-drive side and why should I be experiencing problems with this quality of bottom bracket after only nine months? I will be keeping a close watch on this to see how it holds up.

Watch for updates!

22nd Oct 2010 Update

No problems to report. The cranks keep on turning very smoothly. I have done a lot of very muddy rides which do not seem to have affected the buttery smoothness of the bearings. All good. Well worth the money.

27th March 2011

I must report the BB status. Sort of item which you don't really think about until it goes wrong!! Well this is still going strong. Took it out the other day and the bearings are running nice and smooth. The grit in the non drive side must have been a one off. No probs to report. Worth the money? Yep I think so!

I do like these external bearings, I have to say. Wasn't sure before. They are so easy to get out and the Hope has the advantage that you can replace the bearing, if you need to, without removing the whole BB. Was talikng to the LBS the other day and they say that they have had nil returns of the Hope BB. Now that's a good recommendation!

10th June 2014

Was on holiday in N York Moors. It was REALLY muddy. When I got home thought I would service the bike. I had a look at the BB bearings as they hadn't been touched since March 2011. Got them out and they were as smooth as butter. Replaced with grease just to be sure. They are amazing and worth every penny. So easy to service as well. I really like the external bearings. A quality fix and forget piece of kit. The kind I like!!!

Images

Hope BB Installed!Hope BB BearingHope BB

Comments


[ Post a Comment ]
Viewing: 1-11 of 11

BeDrinkableHuh.

BeDrinkable

Voted 10/10

Well, I'll certainly give you that it's pretty. I think contamination (either side) is just the risk we run with external bearings. It's good to know it was easy to service!
Posted Oct 28, 2009 6:11 pm

Andy LivoRe: Huh.

Andy Livo

Hasn't voted

You may be right BD. Its keeping on top of the maintenance which may well be the key. Its just hassle though.
Posted Oct 28, 2009 6:17 pm

BeDrinkableRe: Huh.

BeDrinkable

Voted 10/10

This still working well for you? I may be upgrading at some point. The old piece is a Race Face X BB. What's strange is that the shell shouldn't matter, but the Race Face just doesn't seem to last as long, even with Enduro bearings. I'm still happy with the LX BB I have on the hardtail and I suspect I'll just need swap out the bearings (or maybe even just re-grease) over the winter.
Posted Oct 20, 2010 1:11 pm

Andy LivoRe: Huh.

Andy Livo

Hasn't voted

Yea it is. After the re-grease had no probs. Checked it out a week or so ago when changing the inner ring. Smooth as butter! Which is pretty good for nearly 2 yrs down the line and a lot of mucky rides. More than I can say for that XTR garbage.

Surprised the enduro bearings aren't lasting longer. These are internal ones I assume?

Can you change or re-grease LX? I thought that they were a unit?
Posted Oct 22, 2010 4:38 pm

BeDrinkableRe: Huh.

BeDrinkable

Voted 10/10

I should say the Race Face info is second hand. A friend of mine has swapped out the bearings and still doesn't get the lifespan he wants. And you're right; the Shimano is a sealed system. I actually forgot that. But, faced with either swapping it out or trying to take it apart I am going to give taking it apart a go.
Posted Oct 24, 2010 12:01 pm

MalibuLongevity??

Malibu

Voted 10/10

So Mr. Livo, how is the Hope BB holding up? Expensive items but I ride with a guy who has Hope stuff and won't upgrade to anything else.
Posted Mar 26, 2011 1:31 am

VisentinRe: Longevity??

Visentin

Voted 10/10

Pretty old article will reply Sir Andy, but everything is good to keep the front page a bit updated, and after all these returns may come in time to assess or not the durability of elements the way you ask ! :)
(I remember the case of Gore Test shorts ! :)))
Posted Mar 26, 2011 7:53 am

Andy LivoRe: Longevity??

Andy Livo

Hasn't voted

Stripped the BB off the Isis 'cos new frame to arrive on Tues!!! Wahey!! Will keep you posted. Yep BB smooth as butter still so really please. Worth the money? Yep I think so.

I think Hope are pretty good. Had the Hubs for 10 yrs and the disc brakes for 9 yrs.
Posted Mar 27, 2011 11:19 am

MalibuNew frame???

Malibu

Voted 10/10

What's it and what about the Isis?
Posted Mar 27, 2011 12:08 pm

BeDrinkableRe: New frame???

BeDrinkable

Voted 10/10

Yes! Enquiring minds want to know!
Posted Mar 27, 2011 12:28 pm

Andy LivoRe: New frame???

Andy Livo

Hasn't voted

Not giving anything away!!!!!! Except the Isis is stripped down!!! Have to wait and see guys;)
Posted Mar 27, 2011 4:33 pm

Viewing: 1-11 of 11